back
Online collection Wiedergutmachung for
National Socialist Injustice

Podcast

The podcast series Sprechende Akten: NS-Opfer und ihr Ringen um Entschädigung ("Talking files: Nazi Victims and their Struggle for Compensation", in German only) brings to life the stories and fates behind a sample of compensation proceedings documented in records from the State Archives of Baden-Württemberg. They unveil the inconsistency of the authorities’ decisions on compensation payments and picture a country struggling in the attempt to find a (material) answer to the suffering and evil it had just brought about.

Sprechende Akten is a production of the State Archives of Baden-Württemberg. Realized by WE ARE PRODUCERS in cooperation with POOL ARTISTS. Funded by the Federal Ministry of Finance.

Titelbild Podcast "Sprechende Akten"
Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg

First Episode: Ongoing discrimination? Martha B. and her long fight for recognition as a victim of Nazi persecution 

Script: Nilz Bokelberg; edited by: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; recording, sound design & composition: Michael Viol; music: Falk Andreas; host: Ulrike Kapfer; cast: Elke Appelt, Sungur Bentürk, Anne Düe, Roman Kern, Stefan Lehnen, Christian Olah, Sebastian Pahl, Lisa Marie Sauerbrey, Bernhard Schütz, Sven Sommer | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg

Martha B. was born in Stuttgart on January 6, 1919. According to the National Socialist racial ideology, she was a quarter Sintiza, i.e. she belonged to the minority of Sinti and Roma who suffered harassment and persecution by the National Socialists. She and one of her daughters were deported to the Auschwitz concentration camp in March 1943. Martha B. survived imprisonment in three concentration camps with irreparable physical damage. Her daughter died in Auschwitz.

In May 1946, Martha returned to Stuttgart and applied for compensation. The processing of her multiple applications dragged on until the 1960s. Due to the continuing social discrimination of Sinti and Roma in the postwar years, it was particularly difficult for Martha to assert her claims. Martha died in 2007 at the age of 88.

A German transcript of the first episode ("Ongoing discrimination? Martha B. and her long fight for recognition as a victim of Nazi persecution") is available here: PDF

 

Second Episode: A stolen youth. The communist resistance fighter Hans Gasparitsch

Script: Nilz Bokelberg; edited by: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; recording, sound design & composition: Michael Viol; Music: Falk Andreas; Host: Ulrike Kapfer; Cast: Elke Appelt, Gerald Blomeyer, Jennifer Günther, Nora Jokhosha, Arne Kapfer, Roman Kern, Bjoern Krass-Koenitz, Sebastian Pahl, Bernhard Schütz, Sven Sommer, Michael Viol | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg

Hans Gasparitsch (born in Stuttgart on March 30, 1918) grew up in a working-class family and was active in the context of workers’ youth movement. After the National Socialists had banned all workers' organizations, he became the leading member of a resistance group. In March 1935, at the age of seventeen, he was arrested in Stuttgart's Schlossgarten after painting the slogans "Red Front" and "Hitler = War". After a year in custody at the Stuttgart Gestapo headquarters, he was sentenced to two and a half years for high treason and was sent to Dachau concentration camp. Hans Gasparitsch experienced the end of the war at Buchenwald concentration camp, where he participated in the liberation of the prisoners.

In 1946, Gasparitsch applied for compensation for 10 years of imprisonment. Since he later temporarily moved to the GDR for study purposes, German authorities refused to accept his claim. The legal proceedings dragged on until the early 1990s. Hans Gasparitsch died in 2002 at the age of 84.

A German transcript of the second episode ("A stolen youth. The communist resistance fighter Hans Gasparitsch") is available here: PDF

Third episode: Suse Rosen and Hermann Horner. A dancer and an opera singer in the sights of the National Socialists

Script: Nilz Bokelberg; Edited by: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; recording, sound design & composition: Michael Viol; Music: Falk Andreas; Host: Ulrike Kapfer; Cast: Frederic Böhle, Djamila Brauer, Rita Feldmeier, Nora Jokhosha, Bjoern Krass-Koenitz, Christian Olah | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg

The episode tells the story of Suse Rosen, born in Dresden on March 7, 1910, and her colleague Hermann Horner, born in Rzeszów, Poland in 1892. Rosen worked as a professional dancer and Horner was a bass-baritone singer. Both had been employed at the Stuttgart Theater since 1929. The Law for the Restoration of the Professional Civil Service of April 7, 1933 put an end to their careers. Like many other Jewish employees, they were dismissed.

Hermann Horner decided to return to Rzeszów. After the German occupation of Poland in 1939, he and his family were deported and eventually murdered in the Belzec extermination camp. Horner's niece was the closest surviving relative and applied for compensation for damage to life in 1958. Following a five-year proceeding, she agreed to a settlement granting her a one-time compensation payment. After her dismissal in Stuttgart, Suse Rosen went on an odyssey throughout Europe without any new career prospects. In poor health, she spent several years in Switzerland before she emigrated to the USA in 1955. In 1963, she returned to Germany with the aim of pushing forward her claim for compensation. She received compensation for damage to professional and economic progress. She died in Locarno, Switzerland in 1968.

A German transcript of the third episode ("Suse Rosen and Hermann Horner. A dancer and an opera singer in the sights of the National Socialists") is available here: PDF

Fourth Episode: Wilhelm Adami. Fatal outcome of a chance encounter.

Script: Nilz Bokelberg; Edited by: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; recording, sound design & composition: Michael Viol; Music: Falk Andreas; Host: Ulrike Kapfer; Cast: Elke Appelt, Frederic Böhle, Elmar Börger, Robert Frank, Jessica Goetz, Jennifer Günther, Nora Jokhosha, Bjoern Krass-Koenitz | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg

In March 1944, Wilhelm Adami (born on May 5, 1887) and Artur Ebert (born on March 16, 1906) met by chance in the apartment of the Dümmig family in Karlsruhe. Wilhelm was working as a self-employed tax consultant at the time – he had already been dismissed from the tax office in 1933 due to his political views and then joined the NSDAP to avoid further professional disadvantages. Ebert denounced him for making derogatory remarks about the German war effort and its lack of success. Adami was arrested and sentenced to three years in prison. He died under unexplained circumstances in Coswig prison in Saxony on April 4, 1945.

After the war, Wilhelm's wife Maria applied for compensation for her deceased husband. During the proceedings, Wilhelm's NSDAP membership raised suspicion and posed some difficulties until the authorities recognized his decision as opportunistic. In addition to material allowances, Maria Adami received compensatory pension payments from the mid-1950s onwards. In 1949, Artur Ebert was sentenced to two years in prison because of his denunciation. He also had to bear parts of the public expenses for Mrs. Adamis compensation payments. 

A German transcript of the fourth episode ("Wilhelm Adami. Fatal outcome of a chance encounter.") is available here: PDF

 

Fifth Episode: Jette Frankfurter. A Jewish pensioner and the debate on compensation for deprivation of liberty

Script: Nilz Bokelberg; Edited by: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; recording, sound design & composition: Michael Viol; Music: Falk Andreas; Host: Ulrike Kapfer; Cast: Christa Andreas, Elke Appelt, Gerald Blomeyer, Frederic Böhle, Elmar Börger, Rita Feldmeier, Renate Fleischhauer, Robert Frank, Christian Olah, Sven Sommer | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg | State Archives of Baden-Württemberg

Jette Frankfurter (born on May 15, 1875) ran a stall selling flowers, toys and sweets in Mannheim's Rosengarten. In February 1936, competing vendors denounced her as. As a result, she lost her permit to run the stall. On October 22, 1940, Jette Frankfurter was deported to Gurs concentration camp in southern France along with over 6,500 Jews from Baden and the southern Palatinate. After her age-related release on August 19, 1943, she was forcibly transferred to a Jewish retirement home, where she remained until she could return to Mannheim in September 1946.

Due to her financial plight, Jette Frankfurter received monthly allowance payments for almost two years from 1947. After a lengthy legal proceeding, she was granted compensation for deprivation of liberty in 1951. However, despite the prison-like conditions in the retirement home, the authorities only recognized the time she spent in the various concentration camps. Jette Frankfurter died in Mannheim at the age of 92 in 1968.

A German transcript of the fifth episode ("Jette Frankfurter. A Jewish pensioner and the debate on compensation for deprivation of liberty") is available here: PDF

Loading...

zurück
Themenportal Wiedergutmachung
nationalsozialistischen Unrechts

Podcast

Für die Podcast-Reihe „Sprechende Akten: NS-Opfer und ihr Ringen um Entschädigung“ wurden Entschädigungsakten aus dem Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg ausgesucht, die die Geschichten und Schicksale hinter den Verfahren lebendig werden lassen. Sie zeigen, wie unterschiedlich die Behörden über die Zahlungen entschieden und wie widersprüchlich die Ergebnisse waren – bei dem Versuch eines Landes, auf das gerade erst verursachte Leid eine (materielle) Antwort zu finden.

Sprechende Akten ist eine Produktion des Landesarchivs Baden-Württemberg. Umgesetzt von WE ARE PRODUCERS in Zusammenarbeit mit POOL ARTISTS. Finanziert vom Bundesministerium der Finanzen.

Titelbild Podcast "Sprechende Akten"
Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg

Episode 1: Fortdauernde Diskriminierung? Der lange Kampf der Martha B. um ihre Anerkennung als NS-Verfolgte.

Buch: Nilz Bokelberg; Redaktion: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; Aufnahme, Sounddesign & Mischung: Michael Viol; Musik: Falk Andreas; Erzählerin: Ulrike Kapfer; In den weiteren Rollen: Elke Appelt, Sungur Bentürk, Anne Düe, Roman Kern, Stefan Lehnen, Christian Olah, Sebastian Pahl, Lisa Marie Sauerbrey, Bernhard Schütz, Sven Sommer | Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg | Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg

Martha B., geboren am 6. Januar 1919 in Stuttgart, war im Sinne der NS-Rassenideologie zu einem Viertel Sintiza, gehörte also zur Minderheit der Sinti und Roma, die von den Nationalsozialisten schikaniert und verfolgt wurde. Sie und eine ihrer Töchter wurden im März 1943 in das Konzentrationslager Auschwitz deportiert. Martha B. überlebte die Haft in drei Konzentrationslagern mit bleibenden körperlichen Schäden. Ihre Tochter starb in Auschwitz.

Im Mai 1946 kehrte Martha B. wieder nach Stuttgart zurück und beantragte Wiedergutmachungsleistungen. Die Bearbeitung ihrer Anträge zog sich bis in die 1960er Jahre hin. Für Sinti und Roma war es auch wegen ihrer fortdauernden gesellschaftlichen Diskriminierung in der frühen Bundesrepublik besonders schwer, ihre Entschädigungsansprüche erfolgreich geltend zu machen. Martha B. verstarb 2007 im Alter von 88 Jahren.

Das Transkript zur ersten Folge ("Fortdauernde Diskriminierung? Der lange Kampf der Martha B. um ihre Anerkennung als NS-Verfolgte.") finden Sie hier: PDF

Episode 2: Eine gestohlene Jugend. Der kommunistische Widerstandskämpfer Hans Gasparitsch.

Buch: Nilz Bokelberg; Redaktion: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; Aufnahme, Sounddesign & Mischung: Michael Viol; Musik: Falk Andreas; Erzählerin: Ulrike Kapfer; In den weiteren Rollen: Elke Appelt, Gerald Blomeyer, Jennifer Günther, Nora Jokhosha, Arne Kapfer, Roman Kern, Bjoern Krass-Koenitz, Sebastian Pahl, Bernhard Schütz, Sven Sommer, Michael Viol | Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg | Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg

Hans Gasparitsch (*30. März 1918 in Stuttgart), sozialisiert im Umfeld der Arbeiter-Jugendbewegung, gründete nach dem Verbot der Arbeiterorganisationen durch die Nationalsozialisten eine Wiederstandsgruppe. Im März 1935 wurde er – siebzehnjährig – beim Anbringen von Parolen „Rot Front“ und „Hitler = Krieg“ im Stuttgarter Schlossgarten verhaftet. Nach einjähriger Untersuchungshaft in der Stuttgarter Zentrale der Gestapo wurde er zu einer zweieinhalbjährigen Strafe wegen Hochverrat verurteilt und ins KZ Dachau gebracht. Das Kriegsende erlebte er im KZ Buchenwald, wo er an der Selbstbefreiung der Häftlinge beteiligt war.

Hans Gasparitsch beantragte 1946 in Stuttgart Entschädigungszahlungen für die erlittene 10-jährige Haftzeit, die ihm auch zügig gewährt wurden. Probleme bekam er erst, nachdem er sich zu Studienzwecken vorübergehend in der DDR aufgehalten hatte. Seine Wiedergutmachungsverfahren zogen sich bis Anfang der 1990er Jahre hin. Hans Gasparitsch verstarb 2002 im Alter von 84 Jahren.

Das Transkript zur zweiten Folge ("Eine gestohlene Jugend. Der kommunistische Widerstandskämpfer Hans Gasparitsch") finden Sie hier: PDF

Episode 3: Suse Rosen und Hermann Horner. Eine Tänzerin und ein Opernsänger im Visier der Nationalsozialisten.

Buch: Nilz Bokelberg; Redaktion: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; Aufnahme, Sounddesign & Mischung: Michael Viol; Musik: Falk Andreas; Erzählerin: Ulrike Kapfer; In den weiteren Rollen: Frederic Böhle, Djamila Brauer, Rita Feldmeier, Nora Jokhosha, Bjoern Krass-Koenitz, Christian Olah | Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg

Suse Rosen, geboren am 7. März 1910 in Dresden, war seit 1927 als Tänzerin und ihr 1892 im polnischen Rzeszów geborener Kollege Hermann Horner seit 1929 als Bassbariton am Stuttgarter Theater engagiert. Das Gesetz zur Wiederherstellung des Berufsbeamtentums vom 7. April 1933 beendete ihre Karrieren. Sie wurden wie viele andere jüdische Beschäftigte entlassen.

Hermann Horner kehrte nach Rzeszów zurück. Nach der deutschen Besetzung Polens 1939 wurden er und seine Familie deportiert und schließlich im Vernichtungslager Belzec ermordet. Horners Nichte stellte als nächste Hinterbliebene 1958 einen Antrag auf Wiedergutmachung. Aufgrund eines gerichtlichen Vergleichs erhielt sie 1963 eine einmalige Entschädigungszahlung. Für Suse Rosen begann nach ihrer Entlassung in Stuttgart eine Odyssee durch Europa, ohne eine neue berufliche Perspektive. Sie verbrachte – gesundheitlich angeschlagen – einige Jahre in der Schweiz, bevor sie 1955 in die USA auswanderte. 1963 kehrte sie für ihr Wiedergutmachungsverfahren eigens nach Deutschland zurück. Sie erhielt für den erlittenen Schaden im beruflichen Fortkommen Entschädigung. Sie starb 1968 in Locarno.

Das Transkript zur dritten Folge ("Suse Rosen und Hermann Horner. Eine Tänzerin und ein Opernsänger im Visier der Nationalsozialisten") finden Sie hier: PDF

Episode 4: Wilhelm Adami. Tödliches Ende einer Zufallsbekanntschaft.

Buch: Nilz Bokelberg; Redaktion: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; Aufnahme, Sounddesign & Mischung: Michael Viol; Musik: Falk Andreas; Erzählerin: Ulrike Kapfer; In den weiteren Rollen: Elke Appelt, Frederic Böhle, Elmar Börger, Robert Frank, Jessica Goetz, Jennifer Günther, Nora Jokhosha, Bjoern Krass-Koenitz | Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg

Im März 1944 begegneten sich Wilhelm Adami (* 5. Mai 1887) und Artur Ebert (* 16. März 1906) rein zufällig in der Wohnung des Ehepaars Dümmig in Karlsruhe. Wilhelm war damals als selbständiger Steuerberater tätig – beim Finanzamt war er aufgrund seiner politischen Einstellung bereits 1933 entlassen worden und danach zur Vermeidung weiterer beruflicher Nachteile in die NSDAP eingetreten. Wegen abfälliger Äußerungen über die deutsche Kriegsführung und deren mangelnde Erfolgsaussichten denunzierte ihn Ebert. Adami wurde verhaftet und zu einer dreijährigen Haftstrafe verurteilt. Er starb am 4. April 1945 im Gefängnis Coswig in Sachsen unter ungeklärten Umständen.

Wilhelms Frau Maria beantragte für ihren verstorbenen Mann Wiedergutmachungsleistungen. Für Verzögerungen sorgte Wilhelms Mitgliedschaft in der NSDAP, deren opportunistischer Charakter aber am Ende anerkannt wurde. Frau Adami erhielt neben sachbezogenen Beihilfen ab Mitte der 1950er Jahre Entschädigungszahlungen. Artur Ebert wurde wegen der Denunziation 1949 zu zwei Jahren Haft und zu Entschädigungszahlungen verurteilt.

Das Transkript zur vierten Folge ("Wilhelm Adami. Tödliches Ende einer Zufallsbekanntschaft.") finden Sie hier: PDF

Episode 5: Jette Frankfurter. Eine jüdische Rentnerin und die Debatte um ihre Haftentschädigung.

Buch: Nilz Bokelberg; Redaktion: Lisa Victoria Hertwig; Aufnahme, Sounddesign & Mischung: Michael Viol; Musik: Falk Andreas; Erzählerin: Ulrike Kapfer; In den weiteren Rollen: Christa Andreas, Elke Appelt, Gerald Blomeyer, Frederic Böhle, Elmar Börger, Rita Feldmeier, Renate Fleischhauer, Robert Frank, Christian Olah, Sven Sommer | Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg

Jette Frankfurter, geboren am 15. Mai 1875, betrieb einen Verkaufsstand mit Blumen, Spielwaren und Süßigkeiten im Mannheimer Rosengarten. Im Februar 1936 wurde sie von konkurrierenden Verkäufern als Jüdin denunziert. Daraufhin entzog man ihr die Erlaubnis zum Betreiben des Verkaufsstandes. Am 22. Oktober 1940 wurde Jette Frankfurter zusammen mit über 6.500 Jüdinnen und Juden aus Baden und der südlichen Pfalz in das Konzentrationslager Gurs in Südfrankreich deportiert. Nach ihrer altersbedingten Entlassung aus dem KZ Noé am 19. August 1943 verbrachte man sie zwangsweise in ein jüdisches Altenheim, wo sie bis zu ihrer Rückkehr nach Mannheim im September 1946 verblieb.

Aufgrund ihrer finanziellen Notlage erhielt Jette Frankfurter ab 1947 für knapp zwei Jahre monatliche Beihilfe-Zahlungen und nach einem längeren Verfahren ab 1951 Entschädigung, jedoch – trotz der haftähnlichen Bedingungen im Altenheim – nur für die Haftzeit im KZ. Jette Frankfurter verstarb 1968 im Alter von 92 Jahren in Mannheim.

Das Transkript zur fünften Folge ("Jette Frankfurter. Eine jüdische Rentnerin und die Debatte um ihre Haftentschädigung.") finden Sie hier: PDF

Loading...